Prepare Yourself! Paul and Joe Anniversary Makeup Collection 001 – Review & Swatch – PHOTOS

If you have been reading my blog for a while now, you know that I am completely obsessed with Paul and Joe. So, as you can imaging, when I saw Paul and Joe Beaute advertising a whole vanity box as part of their new collection, you know your home girl was down.

Stocks were selling out fast, but I managed to buy this collection from ASOS for £55.

IMG_7613

Inside this great pink box, there is:

  • A vanity box
  • 6 cat-shaped solid pigments
  • Lipstick bullet with a case
  • A metal case for the solid pigments
  • A fabric makeup pouch

IMG_7615IMG_7622IMG_7623IMG_7624IMG_7625IMG_7638

Now it’s time for the swatches!

Let’s start with the most eye-catching and intriguing part of this collection, the cat-shaped pigments.

Paul and Joe describes these as face and eye colours, which you can use to apply using the sponge-tip applicator which comes in the 3-cat-storage-tin.

In the swatches below, I have applied the pigment directly to my skin by rubbing the cat’s butts on my arm. Due to the shades having no names, I have applied in the same order that they are displayed in the vanity box; from left to right:

IMG_7622

IMG_7664

NO PRIMER

IMG_7671

PRIMER

The primer I used for the second set of swatches is Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. The pigments are actually not that pigmented, and definitely require a sticky primer like UDPP in order to get the pigment to stick to your skin.

I am not sure how this would work as blusher; I personally do not wear cream blush due to my acne and scarring coverage, cream products tend to lift my foundation. As eyeshadow, I am most likely to use the bronze shade.

These are not the highest quality pigments, and if you were a teen in the 00’s, then these are reminiscent of frosty eyeshadow sticks. I will probably use the neutral shades to travel with when I don’t want to fuss with eyeshadow brushes, although this collection is really more of a collector’s item.

Last but not least it’s time for my favourite product of collection… the LIPSTICK!

This lipstick is so cute with it’s little top hat and smiley face! The colour is a beautiful muted peach shade which is totally perfect for spring. The formula, very similar to other Paul and Joe lipsticks, is pigmented but incredibly moisturising.

IMG_7640IMG_7641IMG_7651IMG_7652

IMG_7662 (2)

Just wanted to show the colour in a different light.

There is only one thing to say about this lipstick…I will use it, but i will feel sheer sadness when i ruin kitty’s head.

Overall, is this collection actually worth it? Like, part with £55 worth? For me personally speaking: YES! It would be a yes for any P&J beauty collector – or in fact any cat lover.

However, if you are just you couldn’t give a two about packaging, cats, or don’t know who Paul and Joe is, no, this collection is not for you. But you can still enjoy the pretty pictures amirite?Kao Umbrella

Leave a Reply

